Welcome to the homepage of the artist Georg Merkel!

 

Georg Merkel ist one of the most important Austrian artists with a strong connection to France, noticeable in his life and his work.

The young Georg Merkel was inspired by the French Art and studied the paintings by Paul Cezanne in Paris. Very early he tried to developed ways of composition with only a few figures by dividing lines, spaces and volumes. His early work is characterized by strict forms, starting in 1923 he began to use the impression of strong colours. During his artistic development both elements – form and colour – became equivalents for him.  

He worked for a long time on the same paintings and on the same subjects. Arcadic landscapes, idyllic figural scenes were his preferred issues. Lovers, mother and child, man and woman – always shown in a very poetic kind of relationship.

 

On the following pages you can find information to life and work of the artist Georgl Merkel. Widder Fine Arts in Vienna specializes on Austrian art and gladly advises you an all questions regarding Georg Merkel. If you are interested in selling or purchasing a work by Georg Merkel do not hesitate to contact us. You can reach us by phone at 01/512 45 69 or 0676/629 81 21 or send us an e-mail to office@kunsthandelwidder.com.

We kindly invite you to visit us in our gallery in Vienna and we are looking forward to hearing from you!

 

Widder Fine Arts

 

Johannesgasse 9-13
A-1010 Vienna
Austria

Tel/Fax: 0043-1-512 45 69
Mobil: 0043-676-629 81 21

www.kunsthandelwidder.com
office@kunsthandelwidder.com

Business hours:


Tue - Fri: 11:00 - 18:00
Sat: 10:00 - 15:00


{* *}

Herzlich Willkommen auf der Homepage des Künstlers Georg Merkel!

 

Georg Merkel gilt als einer der bedeutendsten österreichischen Künstler, dessen Leben und Werk von einem starken Bezug zu Frankreich geprägt war.

Ein früher Aufenthalt in Paris öffnete ihm die Welt von Paul Cezanne und der französischen Malerei des Klassizismus. Bereits in jungen Jahren begann er in seinen Kompositionen mit wenigen Figuren die Verteilung von Linien, Flächen und Volumina zu perfektionieren. Während seine Arbeiten aus der frühen Pariser Zeit von einer strengen Formensprache geprägt sind, setzte er ab 1923 mehr und mehr auf die Wirkung der Farbe. Im Laufe seiner künstlerischen Entwicklung erreichten beide Elemente – Farbe und Form – in seinen Bildern eine gleichwertige Bedeutung.

Er arbeitete oft lange Zeit an ein und demselben Bild und widmete sich immer wieder ähnlichen Themen. Arkadische Landschaften und idyllische Figurenbilder waren seine bevorzugten Motive. Liebespaare, Mutter und Kind, Mann und Frau – immer in Beziehung zueinander mit einer poetischen Ausstrahlung.

 

Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Informationen zu Leben und Werk von Georg Merkel. Der Kunsthandel Widder ist spezialisiert auf österreichische Kunst und berät Sie gerne in allen Fragen zu Georg Merkel. Wenn Sie Interesse am Ankauf oder Verkauf einer Arbeit von Georg Merkel haben, können Sie uns telefonisch oder per E-Mail kontaktieren. Wir stehen Ihnen unter 01 / 512 45 69 oder 0676 / 629 81 21 und per E-Mail unter office@kunsthandelwidder.com zur Verfügung.

Wir laden Sie herzlich in unsere Galerie in Wien ein und freuen uns über Ihre Anfrage!

 

Kunsthandel Widder GmbH

 

Johannesgasse 9-13
A-1010 Wien

Tel/Fax: 0043-1-512 45 69
Mobil: 0043-676-629 81 21

www.kunsthandelwidder.com
office@kunsthandelwidder.com


Öffnungszeiten:


Di - Fr: 11:00 - 18:00
Sa: 10:00 - 15:00


{* *}